The Himalayas are a vast mountain range that extends from Pakistan to the Indian state of Assam. The average height in this range is about 6,000 meters. It is the largest mountain range in the world, spanning 600,000 square kilometers from China, Nepal, Myanmar, Afghanistan, and India to Pakistan. 

Highest Peaks:

The highest peak of the Himalayas is Mount Everest, which is 8,848 meters above sea level. This peak is located on the border of China and Nepal. Nanga Parbat is the highest peak of this range in Pakistan which is 8,126 meters above sea level. Three parallel mountain ranges in the Himalaya are also present in Pakistan. These ranges are as follows:

  1. Central Himalayas
  2. Lesser Himalayas
  3. Siwalik or Sub Himalayas

1. Central Himalaya: 

The Central Himalaya is situated to the south of the Indus River. The average height in this range is 6,000 meters. Nanga Parbat is its highest peak.

2. Lesser Himalaya

The Lesser Himalaya is situated in the south of the Central Himalaya. The average height of this range is from 1,800 meters to 4,600 meters. In Kashmir, the Lesser Himalayas are known as Pir Panjal. Mansehra and Abbottabad districts are included in this mountain range in Pakistan. Important tourist places of Pakistan such as Ghora Gali, Nathia Gali, Murree and Donga Gali are located in this area.

3. Sub Himalaya or Siwalik

Siwalik or Sub-Himalaya is located in the south of Lesser Himalaya. This mountain range starts northwest of Rawalpindi and enters India. The average height of this range is about 4000 meters above sea level. The main rivers of Pakistan, the Ravi River and the Sutlej River originate from this mountain range.