Mountains of Pakistan – Overview

Mountains of Pakistan – Overview 

There are many mountain ranges in Pakistan. We can divide the mountain of Pakistan into two major branches:

  1. Northern mountain ranges
  2. Western mountain ranges

a. The following mountain ranges exist in the Northern mountain ranges of Pakistan:

  1. The Himalayas
  2. The Karakoram Mountains
  3. The Hindu Kush
  4. Hill ranges of Dir, Swat and Kohistan

There are three semi-parallel and relatively low mountain ranges to the south of the Hindu Kush. These are the mountain ranges of Dir, Swat and Kohistan. The height of these mountain ranges in the north is about 5000 to 6000 meters but their height decreases towards the south. And only 200 meters remain.

b. The Western mountain ranges are located in the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Balochistan provinces of Pakistan. The western mountain ranges are divided into the following branches:

  1. Koh e Sufaid (The White Mountains) and the hills of Waziristan
  2. Mount Solomon
  3. Mount Kirthar
  4. Koh Tobah Kakar
  5. Koh Chagai
  6. Ras Koh
  7. Koh Sihan